A country-specific award for artists from different geographies to access the artistic residencies at CERN

If you're an artist who's never spent time in a science laboratory before, this one-month residency award might help you acquire that unique experience. Every year, public and private organizations fund the participation of a different artistic domain in the Accelerate Award. A call for submissions is announced and the selected artist is invited to CERN for a fully-funded residency.



Erich Berger is a Finish artist, curator and cultural worker with a focus on the intersection of art, science and technology with a critical take on their potential to transform society and the world at large.

Erich Berger

Croatian artist Tomo Savić-Gecan almost as a rule exhibits 'nothing'. Conceived in the manner of tabula rasa, his projects function as empty sites filled with various charges, concealed tensions, references and interlinkings.


Julijonas Urbonas is a Lithuanian artist, designer, researcher, engineer, Vice-Rector for Art and Associate Professor at Vilnius Academy of Arts, and PhD student in Design Interactions at the Royal College of Art, London.


Aisha Juma (UAE) is passionate about influencing change in the artistic and cultural international community of UAE while maintaining the unique cultural national identity of its people.


The winners of Accelerate Taiwan are the digital artist Pei-Ying Lin and the dancer and choreographer SU Wen-Chi


South Korean artist born in 1984, lives and works in Seoul.


The winners of ACCELERATE Switzerland are the interactive designer Nadezda Suvorova and the the game-designer Mario von Rickenbach.


The winner of ACCELERATE Greece 2014 was the artist Nikos Papadopoulos.