Collide@CERN Ars Electronica Award 2015

Collide@CERN Ars Electronica Award Goes to Semiconductor (UK) -

August 11, 2015. Ruth Jarman and Joe Gerhardt, two English artists collaborating under the name Semiconductor, are this year’s recipients of the Collide@CERN Ars Electronica Award. In the coming months, they will begin a two-month residency at CERN, the world’s largest particle physics research facility in Geneva. Then, their next stop is Linz, where they will spend a month at the Ars Electronica Futurelab. During their residency, Gerhardt and Jarman aim to create a digital artwork elaborating on the nature of the world and our perception of it, including consideration of how scientific instruments and particle physics discoveries influence our perception of nature.

About Semiconductor

Semiconductor is UK artist duo Ruth Jarman and Joe Gerhardt. In their art works they explore the material nature of our world and how we experience it through the lens of science and technology, questioning how they mediate our experiences. Their unique approach has been singled out for recognition with numerous honors and grants. In 2012, they received the Samsung Art + Prize for New Media, a Smithsonian artist research grant, and a NASA space exploration grant. They have exhibited and screened their works at the House of Electronic Arts in Basel, FACT in Liverpool, the ArtScience Museum in Singapore, the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, the Royal Academy of Arts in London, the Sundance Film Festival in Utah and at the Rotterdam Film Festival. Their works “Magnetic Movie” and “Brilliant Noise” are in the permanent collection of the Hirshhorn Museum in Washington DC and the Centre Pompidou in Paris.

The Jury and their Decision

The Collide@CERN Ars Electronica jury, formed by Mónica Bello (ES), Michael Doser (AT), Horst Hörtner (AT), Gerfried Stocker (AT) and Mike Stubbs (UK) has selected the British artist duo Semiconductor (Ruth Jarman and Joe Gerhardt) as the winners of the international competition to provide them with a fully funded 2-months residency at CERN in Geneva and 1-month at Ars Electronica Futurelab in Linz. Kerstin Ergenzinger (DE) and Antje Greie-Ripatti (DE) were chosen as the two Honorary Mentions in this fourth edition of the prize. A good field of 161 projects from 53 countries was reviewed by the jury leading to a great debate, discussing what was of value and who would gain most from the opportunity from the Collide@CERN Ars Electronica Award. The winning-artists managed to demonstrate through their previous projects a broad sense of speculation, complexity and wonder, using strategies of analysis and translation of the phenomena into tangible and often beautiful forms.

Collide@CERN Ars Electronica Award

The Collide@CERN Ars Electronica Award continues a very successful collaborative relationship between CERN and Ars Electronica. Three residencies have been staged over the past three years under the aegis of the Collide@CERN program. The recipients were Julius von Bismarck (DE), Bill Fontana (US) and Ryoji Ikeda (JP/FR).

The residency will be part of the "European Digital Art and Science Network" initiated by Ars Electronica with the support of the Creative Europe Programme of the EU. The recipients of the Collide@CERN Ars Electronica Award do their residency at CERN, the world’s foremost facility for fundamental physics nuclear research. This program is meant to be a source of inspiration, a means of discovering new artistic approaches and an opportunity to develop them. The artists’ stay at CERN is followed by a one-month residency at the Ars Electronica Futurelab in Linz, where they receive expert support in bringing the ideas generated at CERN to fruition.

You are here